Latest News

AUDIO BLOG: Pilgrim Pipeline Proposal Not Worth the Risks

Monday, April 11, 2016 -- Ned Sullivan

In this commentary—featured on www.midhudsonnews.com in April of 2016—Scenic Hudson President Ned Sullivan reviews pending proposals to construct petroleum pipelines through the Hudson Valley and explains why valley communities are rallying in opposition.

"PILGRIM PIPELINES: Not Worth the Risks"

HUFFINGTON POST: EPA Ups Ante in Inter-Agency Warfare, Jeopardizing Public Health and Credibility of Federal Superfund Program

Tuesday, April 5, 2016 -- Ned Sullivan

In my last blog, I detailed major missteps of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in its oversight of the Hudson River Superfund cleanup of toxic PCBs, including allowing the polluter, General Electric, to decommission its massive dredging operations before the agency determined whether the cleanup had met its goals, and ignoring pleas from other federal agencies and evidence that more dredging is needed to restore the river’s health.

Broad Coalition of Conservation, Business, and Recreation Groups Celebrate Unprecedented Funding for New York’s Environment

Friday, April 1, 2016 -- Scenic Hudson

Jessica Ottney Mahar, The Nature Conservancy in New York, 518-669-5067, jottney@tnc.org
Eileen Larrabee, Open Space Institute, 518-427-1564, elarrabee@osiny.org
David Haight, American Farmland Trust, 518-581-0078, newyork@farmland.org
Andy Bicking, Scenic Hudson, 914-489-1568, abicking@scenichudson.org
John Sheehan, Adirondack Council, 518-441-1340, jsheehan@adirondackcouncil.org
/p>

Groups Applaud Historic Funding for Environmental Protection Fund in FY2016-17 Budget

Enviro Groups Ask Thruway Authority, DEC to Suspend Review of “Unviable” Pilgrim Pipelines

Wednesday, March 30, 2016 -- Scenic Hudson

Kate Kiely, Deputy Director, National Media, NRDC, 212 727 4592, or kkiely@nrdc.org
Cliff Weathers, Communications Director, Riverkeeper, 914 478 4501, Ext. 239, or cweathers@riverkeeper.org
Hayley Carlock, Director of Environmental Advocacy, Scenic Hudson, 845 891 3148, or hcarlock@scenichudson.org
Roger Downs, Conservation Director, Sierra Club Atlantic Chapter, 518 426 9144, or roger.downs@albany.twcbc.com

HUDSON VALLEY, N.Y.—Leading environmental groups opposing the proposal to build two 168-mile oil pipelines through the heart of the Hudson Valley sent a letter to the New York State Thruway Authority and the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) on Friday, March 25, urging the agencies to suspend further review of the project to prevent waste of agency time and resources.

Pages